Firearms Talk banner
1 - 20 of 68 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

Im in the market for my first shotgun. I am torn between the 2 above models and would like to get insight from some of you that may own them or know more about them. FYI this will be a dual purpose firearm as I will use for some hunting but mostly home protection. I tend to lean more on the tactical side as I would prefer a pistol grip. Let me know what ya think!

Thanks,

·
Registered
980 Posts
Check out the new CZ612 model. It is coming very soon later in the month. 870's I have heard are too heavy. If anything, a mossberg 500. 870 is more of a police duty firearm TBH I am not an expert, just giving my philosophy.

·
Banned
3,611 Posts
In history that doesn't say anything about the new ones...Remington quality has went to Hell in the last few years
I agree, and if you need to rely on this arm, well then, I'd go Mossberg personally.

·
Registered
560 Posts
cant go wrong with either. i bought a mossy 500, but that was because i already had a 700P and wanted to branch out lol. sanded it down to get rid of the bluing (i hate bluing) and duracoated it. holds 7+1, use it for home defense and F-ing around whilst shooting with my buddies, so i wanted something that was high capacity without having to buy a mag extension like you do with the 870.

put a flashlight on it

tritium front bead

and added an aluminum extended safety button

i'd say i have $450-$475 in it including the cost of the duracoat.

·
Registered
104 Posts
Hey guys,

Im in the market for my first shotgun. I am torn between the 2 above models and would like to get insight from some of you that may own them or know more about them. FYI this will be a dual purpose firearm as I will use for some hunting but mostly home protection. I tend to lean more on the tactical side as I would prefer a pistol grip. Let me know what ya think!

Thanks,