Mosin-Nagant good or bad?

Discussion in 'General Rifle Discussion' started by gbrew, Jun 4, 2013.

1. gbrew

gbrew New Member

I am new to the fire arm hobby. I currently have a Springfield 9mm xdm and looking for other fire arms to shoot. I found a Century Arms Chinese M53 7.62x54R Carbine Bolt Action Rifle at Fleet Farm for $130. I have read a couple of reviews/articles on it and thought it would be better to get more info on it such as. Is it a good rifle? Is the ammo hard to find? Is it worth it for a guy (me) that would put a box of rounds through it a month?

2. JWagner

JWagner New Member

The Chinese 53 is a variant of the Russian M44, so it is a well proven design. As for the guns you are looking at, ask to see 2 or 3 of them and choose the one in the best condition. For $130, you really cannot go wrong if the gun looks to be in good condition. Ammo is pretty affordable, so you could do a lot of shooting.

3. c3shooter

c3shooter Administrator Staff Member

4. SSGN_Doc

SSGN_Doc Well-Known Member

Bore condition seems to be one of the most important factors in how good they shoot.

Not a bad hobby shooter gun.

5. therewolf

therewolf New Member

Many of the T53s are beat up.

Try to get a good one, with a solid

Bore & hopefully matching serial #s.

It's not too hard to get a Polish M44

from the 1950s in near mint to mint

shape for a little more, @180-230

or so.

IME, with good ammo, they are a great brush

gun.

6. Copeman60

Copeman60 New Member

Great gun for the money!! U can't go wrong with any mosin nagant rifle if its in good firing condition.

7. MikeSC1972

MikeSC1972 New Member