Modification to carry gun

Discussion in 'General Handgun Discussion' started by Shalym, Oct 28, 2015.

1. Shalym

Shalym New Member

Any liability issues with removing the magazine disconnect on a carry gun?
    [​IMG]

2. JonM

JonM Moderator

not being a lawyer i can only give an unproffessional opinion (this is not legal advice and represents my sole opinion on the issue):

only if you sell it or lend it to someone who then shoots itself with the gun. or you damage someone else's property or negligently discharge it and wound or kill someone else. you might have an issue.

personally i dont carry a gun design that includes an idiotic mag safety. i have some guns that came with them, but i never carry them for defensive use, sell them without the safety restored, or lend any gun to anyone

Last edited: Oct 28, 2015

3. hiwall

hiwall Well-Known Member

There certainly could be. But you would have to weigh that fact against your desire to remove said safety.

4. Cannibal

Cannibal New Member

I don't modify my carry guns at all. I refuse to give an overzealous prosecutor any footholds I can avoid. Juries are weird, so I want to present myself as just a normal guy with a normal (factory stock) gun that reluctantly had to respond to an imminent threat.

Best to be selective when choosing what you'll carry, IMO.

5. 25-5

25-5 New Member

What I have noticed in the media is that after a shooting, any modifications done to a firearm or special ammo was done for the sole purpose of killing someone. Adjusting the trigger or JHP ammo come to mind.
    How such situations turned out l don't know, but it is a liability.
    Now that the Constitution is under attack one should ponder the decisions carefully.

6. Cannibal

Cannibal New Member