Mo. Man at CPL class shoots self/dies

Discussion in 'Training & Safety' started by Car54, Mar 11, 2011.

1. Car54

Car54 New Member

2. doctherock

doctherock New Member

Well its safe to say he wont make that mistake again. May God rest his soul....

3. willshoum

willshoum New Member

Retards

Sad that this expert instructer didn't know didly about fire arms.........

4. Dillinger

Dillinger New Member

Man. I hate to see these stories. :(

Doing 90% of things "right" when handling a weapon is not enough.

And with a Browning Hi Power? Really?! :(:(:confused:

5. bstew324

bstew324 New Member

too bad...needed better supervision

6. gruntpain1775

gruntpain1775 New Member

There are several things that are wrong with this whole situation. The first the type of training the Instructor was giving.

I'm an Instructor for the NRA, A State Instructor for the CCW class here and I did a metric ton of Instructing in the military. So that's my background on the Instructing realm.

The Instructor should have not been teaching something a little more advanced like this is. A CCW class is there to teach you the laws regarding the carry of a weapon, the safe manipulation of a weapon, the basics of guns and gun handling and the basics of shooting.

Once a person has been instructed in the basics of firearm use and is proficient at it, then you can advance to more complicated things like drawing and shooting with a non-dominant hand. The Instructor should not have been doing this. There should have been more close supervision as well.

An preventable thing that could have been avoided had the Instructor not tried to be a super tacticool firearms Instructor. You teach to the level of the class. Not teach to the level of yourself.

7. M14sRock

M14sRock New Member

I only know one way to learn how to do something, and that is to do it. Then do it a bunch of times. And finally do it some more.