Firearms Talk banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Figured i'd open a separate thread about the needed knock back for a 12 gauge semi auto. I'm new to the idea of a shotgun and am thinking of buying one. I seem to think that since automatic and semi auto firearms require the round/shell to give more force that such a shell would require more recoil in order to cycle. Is this the case?

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #3

·
Premium Member
22,626 Posts
a gas gun will have significanty less felt recoil.
1250s will "kick" less in a gas gun than 1100s in an old timey pump/.

My Benelli M4 will handle them all, no problems.

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
a gas gun will have significanty less felt recoil.
1250s will "kick" less in a gas gun than 1100s in an old timey pump/.

My Benelli M4 will handle them all, no problems.
I take it a gas powered semi auto can take just about anything.

·
Premium Member
2,288 Posts
Velocity isn't the only criteria for "power" in shotshells. "Dram Equivelent" is also important. I've forgotten more than I remember about this, but it has to do with comparison to black powder loads to smokeless powder. Generally speaking, most semi-auto shotguns today will function just fine with nearly any commercial shell of the type the gun is designed for if it is held properly. That said, can't really tell until you try various loads.

Only shotgun I ever had that absolutely would not function with less than high-brass buck or slugs was a High Standard Model "B" bullpup. Pistol-gripped, seldom fired from shoulder, it was a punisher on both ends.

·
Premium Member
10,826 Posts