Military veterans

Discussion in 'The Club House' started by NGIB, Jun 29, 2010.

1. NGIB

NGIB New Member

Got this from a friend of mine, also retired. On occasion, I enter the post using my retired ID (versus my civilian ID) and I always get a very respectful "Good Morning Master Sergeant"...

Last edited: Jun 29, 2010
  2. danf_fl

danf_fl Retired Supporter

I work as a contractor on a Naval Air Station. I too have shown my id card (USAF retirees do not have to have a sticker, but have to show id card) and have gotten the greeting of "Welcome aboard TSgt". Guess you could say that I am still in it (although another branch now.)

3. IGETEVEN

IGETEVEN New Member

Indeed, I miss it more than anyone would ever know, but I will never miss the damn bureaucratic invasion of politics, that are now deeply embedded, especially in my former branch of served operations.

Jack

4. opaww

opaww New Member

I would of stayed in the Army for the rest of my life if they would of let me

5. colmustard

colmustard New Member

Yeah I kinda miss the Air Force myself, have been out a year now, but still just feels like I am on leave and can go back. I miss the pepole and the friendships made, but I dont miss standing on a bird for 15 hours without a break or sitdown:D makes me gratefull for a bathroom!:eek: But all in all, I think even when you leave it, a bit of it will always stay with you, and just maybe that makes you walk a little taller knowing you did somthing that was bigger then yourselves.:rolleyes:

6. CA357

CA357 New Member Supporter

Sometimes I miss it, sometimes I'm glad I'm out. It shaped me and contributed in untold ways to the man I am today. It's a huge part of who I am.

Unfortunately, I'm forever addicted to SOS. ;)

7. dunerunner

dunerunner New Member

There are times, I wonder what my life would have been like had I accepted the $10,000 VRB and re-enlisted.