Mil spec vs Commercial spec stock?

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by magnum05, Nov 25, 2012.

1. magnum05

magnum05 New Member

im wanting to buy a new stock but im not quite sure what the difference between mil and commercial spec is.. i have a bushmaster carbine with an adjustable stock already but want to upgrade to a magpul.. Anyone can help me and explain the difference so i know what i have or need

2. Gatoragn

Gatoragn Active Member

A picture is worth 1k words

Attached Files:

3. JonM

JonM Moderator

[​IMG]

milspec is stronger because it is a smaller diameter with thicker walls than a commercial tube

milspec tubes are flat on the rear commercial have a slant at the rear. thats the two obvious by looking features

4. JonM

JonM Moderator

LOL same pic

5. Hoffs333

Hoffs333 New Member

More than likely it will be a commercial buffer tube. I also have a Bushmaster and got a Magpul MOE stock. The difference between the commercial and mil-spec is the mil spec is a bit smaller in diameter, shorter in length and is straight on the back end. The commercial buffer is overall bigger and the end of it is at a bit of an angle.

ForumRunner_20121125_114523.jpg

6. Gatoragn

Gatoragn Active Member

What is they say about sharp minds?

7. SSGN_Doc

SSGN_Doc Well-Known Member

Be aware that not all commercial tubes are angled on the rear.

8. Overkill0084

Overkill0084 Active Member

A stupid question perhaps, but what problem is the slanted rear the solution to? Heck, for that matter, why create a new spec at all?

9. magnum05

magnum05 New Member

by looking at pics does the commercial always have 6 position and the mil have 4 position? @ Hoffs.. the end of my buffer is flat and is a 4 position.. I guess the best way to find out is to take my stock off and measure the tube? correct?

10. jwalsh66

jwalsh66 New Member

The mil-spec's do come in 6 position. I just got one from larue. I'm sure ther e are other manufacturers that make them also.