Maybe someone can share their knowledge with a new guy?

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by Hot Sauce NARC, Jan 24, 2009.

1. Hot Sauce NARC

Hot Sauce NARC New Member

Well id like to say im new to this site. I graduated college got a job and the first thing i bought was nib R.R.A. m4 which was immediately topped with an eotech and a Yankee hill machine quad rail among other minor goodies. I absolutely love it, and it is a great weapon. Im just not absolutely thrilled about targets that are covered by the red dot past 75 yards. Im beginning to think i "need" a new black rifle to serve my long range purposes. Ive done a bit of reading and looked at all the big names (and some smaller ones) web pages and I think i would like to have a RRA varmint a4 24' barrel, or something very similar. I just wish RRA made that model in some different calibers. Im wondering if anybody has any suggestions based on their long range ar's. Much appreciated:

2. Dick Manley

Dick Manley New Member

What sort of distances are you trying to achieve. The AR can reach out to 400-500 meters and still be effective, provided you are shooting the right loads and have a decent optic.

Instead of rushing out and buying a new rifle, try a different optic and heavier 6O-68 grain bullet. (you will most likely get better accuracy out of the 60's because of the 1/9 bbl twist rate that you have.)

Here is just a suggestion on an optic and mount that may help shoot very accuratly out to 350-400 meters. A Millet DMS 1-4x varible power optic and a larue mount for your flat top

The Optic
    Millet 1-4X24 DESIGNATED MARKSMAN Tactical SCOPE (DMS)

Mount
    LaRue Tactical SPR-E Scope Mount QD LT-139

A Second (some what cheaper) Mount
    American Defense RECON X Extended Scope 1 inch rings

Remember this is just an option, it may be a little on the expensive side (approx $465) but its cheaper than buying a whole new rifle and optic combo.

-DM-

3. Hot Sauce NARC