Featured May sound funny BUT

Discussion in 'Revolver Handguns' started by curly45, Aug 1, 2020.

1. curly45

curly45 Member

It seems that for some reason I can shoot a revolver better than a semi, have not figured it out? Thinking @ getting a 45 snubby any suggestions?

ramjet likes this.
  2. donthav1

donthav1 Well-Known Member

Are you talking 45 ACP or 45 long Colt?

If ACP, off the top of my head S&W made one & so did Charter Arms.

If you mean 45 Colt, i'm sure all the big names made one at some point.

3. Missouribound

Missouribound Well-Known Member

When I started shooting I bought a .22 pistol and a .22 auto. I could shoot much bette with the auto, longer barrel, better sights, etc.
    Then my wife got interested in guns and we bought a nice S&W 657 w/ 5" barrel (hard to come by now I understand) and a Taurus PT38S, 38 super.
    She and I got very good with the .357 but neither of us could hit anything with the Taurus.
    So much that I thought it was out of whack from the factory. I asked a friend to take it for a weekend and play with it, to see if it was me or the pistol. He was an avid shooter and I was a beginner so I figured he would be one to check it out.
    On Monday morning he came back with the pistol and the targets he shot....full of bullseyes.
    So it was my issue.
    Over time I learned how to shoot the auto as well as the revolver.....the key being time, practice and getting used to a different way of shooting. Revolvers for the most part are a more deliberate way of shooting. The action requires a certain discipline for handling and keeping it steady until the hammer drops. An auto doesn't offer that time frame. You point and start squeezing and suddenly it fires whether you are expecting it or not.
    But those things go away in time and you learn the weapon. At least I did.

curly45 and Rifling82 like this.
  4. formerCav

formerCav Well-Known Member