Machete or hatchet

Discussion in 'Survival & Sustenance Living Forum' started by shawn_c2000, Jan 12, 2013.

1. shawn_c2000

shawn_c2000 New Member

If I had to bug out and only grab one what would be better / more versatile a good machete or a good hatchet?

2. NitroxAZ

NitroxAZ New Member

A good Kukri is a versatile choice also.

3. Bushwhacker

Bushwhacker New Member

Machete, hands down. Trust me on this one I've got 38 years of experience clearing brush. The machete does a much better job of cutting, is almost as good for splitting, and would make a better weapon.

4. winds-of-change

winds-of-change The Balota's Staff Member

I agree on Machete. It just seems more versatile.

5. TLuker

TLuker Active Member

Another thumbs up on the machete (or any really big knife such as a kukri), but it has a good one with a heavy blade. :)

6. Mosin

Mosin Well-Known Member

Have you guys never used a Woodsmans pal?... All the rangers up in Maine swear by them.
    They work like a machete or an axe, and they have a hook on the end for gripping things like branches, etc....

I have gone through machetes, and prefer Cold Steel, I have hatchets and axes for chopping and splitting wood, but the Woodsmans pal is the best, hands down, for clearing brush, etc... I really like the hook too, because you can grap limbs that are just out of reach and pull them down. Plus the handle is very comfortable.

7. HOSSFLY

HOSSFLY New Member

8. Mosin

Mosin Well-Known Member

Hossfly... Lol

9. Kai

Kai New Member

I use a kukri...it chops like a hatchet and cuts like a heavy camp knife.

10. Bushwhacker

Bushwhacker New Member