M1 Garand Purchase

Discussion in 'General Rifle Discussion' started by Mick3411, Oct 12, 2012.

1. Mick3411

Mick3411 New Member

I am looking to purchase my first M1 Garand through CMP in the next few weeks. I am a complete newbe on the M1 so would appreciate any pointers. I was looking at both the Service and Special Grade rifles. I wont be putting the rifle on display, do plan on shooting it - but not in competition, and have no real requirement other than wanting one. With that as background, would you recommend Service or Special Grade? What other pointers to look for?

Mick

2. primer1

primer1 Well-Known Member Supporter

Don't put just any ammo through it. Get some garand surplus, or buy ammo made for garands like American eagle. Too hot of a load will bend the op rod. This might be true with heavy bullets, not sure.

3. shadecorp

shadecorp Active Member Supporter

Sure sorry I didn't buy one many years ago.
    Loved the ones I carried while in the Army.

4. Gabby

Gabby New Member

Where do you live? Close enough to go to either the North or South store and select your rifle in person? If so, I believe the attendants will help you make a good selection if you ask them. I was at the North store about 2 months ago and it had a pretty good selection to pick from. Good luck and I'm sure you'll enjoy shooting and handling your Garand.

5. Mick3411

Mick3411 New Member

I am close to the north store. I wasn't planning on going in person but will now

6. Gabby

Gabby New Member

Don't forget to take proof of US citizenship, marksmanship training, and membership in an affiliated club.

7. Mick3411

Mick3411 New Member

I have all the paperwork in. Just waiting on funds

8. zaitsev44

zaitsev44 Active Member

What are the requirements for a CMP Garand?

9. nitestalker

nitestalker New Member