M1 Carbine Information?

Discussion in 'General Rifle Discussion' started by DocWard, Apr 16, 2014.

1. DocWard

DocWard New Member

I have an opportunity to purchase an M1 Carbine for what I consider to be a good price. It has the General Motors stamp just behind the front sight. I'm far from expert, but it appears to be in what I would call Good / Very Good Condition. As I recall, it has the bayonet lug on it.

What other things should I be looking at / for on it?

Thanks in advance for any input.

2. Pasquanel

Pasquanel Proud to be an American Supporter

Good condition, good price, so what is the question?

3. SSGN_Doc

SSGN_Doc Well-Known Member

Many carbines are built out of a pile of parts. That's not an entirely bad thing if you are just looking for a shooter, but it can have an effect on value as a collector piece.

Had a parts carbine that was fun to shoot. Never had a collectors piece.

4. DocWard

DocWard New Member

Welllll..... As I indicated, I'm not really an expert, especially when it comes to the M1 Carbine, so, as I asked, are there other things I need to be looking at or for? Specifically, are there things inherent to the model that make it more or less valuable, things that should be checked to make sure it functions properly and safely, etc...

5. JonM

JonM Moderator

Look for counter boring. Counterboring doesn't mean its a bad gun but its a sign of excessive wear and the throat and headspace should be checked.

Headspace on any unknown m1 carbine should be checked before firing as lots of folks just toss these things together from random parts. Even if great uncle billybob says he got from his granddad who fought his way through the jungles of saudi arabia against the forces of the kaiser on the russian front next to vaisily zaitsev as his spotter on iwo jima...

M1 carbines are based solely on condition. Counter boring loose fitting parts mismatched finish colors are all signs of poor condition.

6. DocWard

DocWard New Member