M&P Compact 357 Sig, Should I get it???

Discussion in 'M&P Forum' started by X-Raycer, Oct 20, 2012.

1. X-Raycer

X-Raycer New Member

I was in the Police Equipment store last week looking for a S&W Shield .40 and was introduced to this pistol.

S&W M&Pc 357Sig with No Thumb Safety
    NIB and comes with:
    3 10 Round Magazines
    Standard S&W Night Sights front and back
    3 sizes of interchangeable Backstraps
    The price is $599.00
    As a Veteran I get it for $499.00 + 6% tax

Is this a good deal?
    I can't find info on it or anything comparable in my internet searches.

I did research the Ammo and see that it is the Ammo used by the Secret Service, Air Marshals, and many State Police Agencies.
    I've read that the 357Sig have a Big Muzzle Flash and a Very Loud Bang and that it will do its job after penetrating a Windshield or Automotive Glass.

I like the looks of this pistol.
    I don't like the Short barrel of the Shield. It looks lop-sided to me.
    I really like the feel of this pistol in my hand.
    It would be used for Home-defense/CCW.

Your experience and or thoughts are greatly appreciated.
    Rich

2. msup752

msup752 New Member

I carried guns chambered in this caliber for years. It is a reloaders dream as it takes 9mm components. It has great accuracy and penetration. The solid copper or Gold Dot HP's are by far the best defensive rounds (gold dots are made for this calibers velocity).
    The recoil is a snap, not a push, similar to the .40.
    I had a Sig 229, Glock, and H&K USP. The glock was lightest and highest capacity but snappiest recoil. I've never shot any of the Smiths.
    I absolutely loved my 357 sigs over .40's. For factory ammo, .40's are cheaper and there is more choice. Since the Gold Dots are undisputed champs, choice isn't a big deal with HP's.
    As for price, I think the M&P's are $600 new around here without night sights.

3. mag318

mag318 Member