Lube

Discussion in 'Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion' started by W. C. Quantrill, Jul 7, 2012.

1. W. C. Quantrill

W. C. Quantrill New Member

What lube are you guys using on your semi autos?

I have been using Royal Purple synthetic gun oil for about 10 years and I am happy with it, anyone else tried it or using it?

2. SSGN_Doc

SSGN_Doc Well-Known Member

ARs I run synthetic motor oil. Sometimes Tetra Lube

M1A I run TW 25 grease.

AK I run anything that's handy.

.22 semi autos I run Rem-oil or Hoppes oil, or Tetra Lube since they seem light.

3. W. C. Quantrill

I have a quart of the little yellow capped grease pots I use on the Garand, but everything else gets the Royal purple synthetic, which I think, is just synthetic motor oil. I like it.

4. TLuker

TLuker New Member

I've always preferred a dab of grease. It picks up contaminates easier, but holds up longer.

I might try synthetic motor oil at some point, but I just don't have confidence in oil? Oil is great for light stuff, but it just doesn't hold up like grease. If it were up to me I would design all semi autos with grease fittings. :cool:

5. W. C. Quantrill

That Royal Purple stuff is tenacious as grease. It is like lithium grease, ya know the kind, ya get it on you and you can smear it around but you cant wipe it off?

6. JonM

JonM Moderator

i use mobil 1 synthetic 30w. it doesnt burn off like gun oil does as it takes far more heat than a firearm produces for it to breakdown or burn up. most gun oils are very lightweight machine oils which are terrible, absolutely aweful, for running a firearm. rem oil is probably the worst gun oil ever put on the market and should only ever be used to oil a gun thats going to be put in a safe and even then it evaporates very quickly.

on my ccw i use tetra grease since im more concerened about getting oil all over my clothing than the grease burning off.

there are different kinds of lubricants for different purposes.