Looking to start reloading

Discussion in 'Ammunition & Reloading' started by victorzamora, Feb 14, 2014.

1. victorzamora

victorzamora New Member

Hey guys, I've been reading through a bunch of threads and have read all of the stickies, as well as watched a bunch of reloading YouTube videos. I'm an Engineer, mechanically inclined, and don't mind "fiddling" as long as it's worth it. I'm also of the persuasion of "buy nice or buy twice."

I only have two calibers I intend to reload, and they're "high capacity" calibers: 9mm and .223/5.56. I'm not doing any accurate target shooting, just putting holes in paper. I'm trying to get started in IPSC/IDPA/ZSA/3Gun type stuff and I expect to need a larger amount of ammo. The reason I want to reload is partially for cost and partially for availability. If something bad happens and Uncle Sam starts banning stuff and people geek out, I'm not ready to give up shooting. I went nearly a year without firing a shot because of complete lack of ammo.

So, I've pretty much decided on a Progressive Press. One thing that's got me teetering is the amount of "peripherals" I'd need to get started. Besides a Progressive Press kit and consumables (powder, brass, primer, bullets), what else is a necessity for reloading? Is there a reason to talk me out of reloading or a Progressive Press?

2. nitestalker

nitestalker New Member

I hope you are looking at the Dillon presses. I would get a case prep station, RCBS is nice. A Dillon large capicity case cleaner. A quick collet case trimmer like the Lyman. You will need a reliable set of powder scales. I like the Balance beam scale like the RCBS 10-10. There will many more toys you will want as time goes by. :D

3. Ez2b

Ez2b New Member

There is no negatives all plus I would jump into it.
    It does sound like you been reading some of our other posts .