Looking for reccomendations.

Discussion in 'General Handgun Discussion' started by painted_klown, May 16, 2008.

1. painted_klown

painted_klown New Member

Hello all, I just recently got into shooting and I don't have a clue of where to start. I bought my first gun on a whim as it seemed like it was a good deal. I would like to continue to make wise purchases as I buy more guns. So my question is this. What do you recommend? I am a gun newbie and I know very little about them. I have only shot 3 guns in my entire life and they were all .22 long rifles. I am wanting to buy a hand gun and was leaning toward one that takes .22 long bullets so I can use the same ammo in both my Marlin model 60 and whatever I get next.
    I will mainly use the gun for target practice. I am trying to keep the money as low as possible without getting something that is unreliable and will be a headache to clean, maintain, and use. Well I hope you all will help to steer me in the right direction. Thanks.:)

2. Flint Rock

Flint Rock New Member

A Ruger Single Six might suit you well. It's a single action .22 revolver (you have to manually cock the hammer before each shot) that is simple to shoot and maintain. Prices aren't bad on new ones and you should be able to track down a used one with some effort.

3. painted_klown

painted_klown New Member

Thanks for the tip Flint Rock.:)

I am going to go check them out (online anyway) and see what I can find out about them. Just to be sure, is this http://www.thegunsource.com/store/item/7787_Hand_Guns_Pistols_Ruger_Ruger__Super_Single__Six_.aspx
    the gun you are talking about?

I should have mentioned to everyone that $400.00 and under is the price range I am interested in looking at. The lower the better of course without getting a piece of junk.:p

Thanks for the advice, are there any more guns/models that I should take a look at all?

Last edited: May 16, 2008
  4. Flint Rock

Flint Rock New Member