Looking at a .45

Discussion in 'Concealed Carrying & Personal Protection' started by RyanMann, Feb 27, 2009.

1. RyanMann

RyanMann New Member

I am looking to buy and carry an HK .45c. Does anyone have one or share anything they have heard about how well they shoot, performance, maintenance, anything really. I am new to HKs, I know they are really well made. I'll also listen to any other suggestions in the .45 market.

2. Dillinger

Dillinger New Member

Ryan - Welcome to the Forum

I have the H & K USP Tactical in .45ACP. It's a good gun, but it isn't a 1911.

The pluses are that I have never had a problem with it and it's always gone bang with whatever I put through it. It's extractor spits shells WELL out of range of the shooter and clear of the weapon. The safety is a positive on/off and there is no middle ground, so you can safely carry it and feel comfortable. It features many of the 1911's key features that I like. H&K uses a polygonal barrel that is proprietary to them and it's quite accurate.

The Minuses are: It's expensive. H&K Customer Service is VERY BAD. The thing is bulky, and the grip is wide, VERY WIDE. I have large hands, I wear XL gloves in most sizes, and I can't access the slide release or the mag release with the standard address the weapon grip. H&K uses a polygonal barrel that is proprietary to them and if you shoot someone, they are going to know IMMEDIATELY what weapon it came from. :rolleyes:

Personally, I would opt for several other choices that would run you less money and still be just as reliable.

JD

3. Mark F

Mark F New Member Supporter