Long range set up for beginner

Discussion in 'General Rifle Discussion' started by Longrange, Jan 9, 2011.

1. Longrange

Longrange New Member

Wondering if anyone with long range shooting experience, 600-1000 yards will be able to answer a few questions for me. I am interested in buying a rifle, specifically for the bench that will reach out accurately to 600-1000 yards. I am looking first at what caliber should I be looking at? .223, .243, .308 will all of these be suitable or is 1 preferred over another?

Next I am looking at barrel legnth, should I stick with a 26" bull or will a 24" bull work as well?

I will preface this by stating that I have no bench experience for this type of shooting, so my theory is start at 100 yards and become proficient in that range, then move to 200 and so on.

What I am hoping to do is purchase a nice rifle from the start that I can grow into without having to spend big money at a smith to tweak my purchase. I have set my budget roughly in the $1500 range but will extend it to 2k if need be.

Thanks for your time

2. DarinCraft

DarinCraft New Member

I have ZERO experience with LR shooting but I have interest in it and have asked some questions about this before. My best advice to you is to read the opinions posted here before.

You will find that most people here advise a .308 with custom loads, a custom rifle based on one of the big three recievers (Remmy, Howa or Savage you will never get a straight answer because it is so dependent on preference.) and a scope that will definitely set you back at least $1000.

Now if you were to change your range to around 600 meters or less, then the advice changes to something a little more reasonably priced, like an out of the box Savage 12 series, a Remmy 700 or a Howa 1500 with a moderately priced scope.

This is what I have read here and by no means is advice by me. Below is the thread I posted last year. Dillinger, Tango, Cane and many others posted links and a lot of great info there.