Lead in semi autos

Discussion in 'Semi-Auto Handguns' started by bestnamever, Feb 23, 2014.

1. bestnamever

bestnamever New Member

We'll I'm pretty new to reloading, been doing it for about 8 months now.
    I've started reloading for my .45s and I've been using lrn bullets from Speer.

I've just been told I shouldn't shoot the lead bullets through my semi - autos.

My question is why?

They've been working fine , and my pistols are still shooting fine.
    The reason I've been buying lead bullets are #1 they are cheaper ,and #2 I can shoot more often due to the cheaper price.

Is there anything I should worry about due to using lead rounds?

Sent from my iPhone using Firearms Talk

2. aandabooks

aandabooks New Member

3. bestnamever

bestnamever New Member

A guy at the local gun range today, said lead bullets can be bad for the barrel . His reasoning was modern barrels aren't made to be used with lead.

It's the first time I've heard it , but I want to make sure I'm not somehow harming my barrels.

4. JonM

JonM Moderator

Lead is only problematic if your using a polygonal barrel like a glock or hk usp.

In those kinds of barrels lead is smeared along the tube building up as more shots are fired until the gun kabooms.

Standard rifling its only a problem if the bullet is too soft for the speed your firing it.

5. Anna_Purna

Anna_Purna New Member

Plus 45s are generally slower speeds where leading isn't as much a problem as say 9mms etc would be.

^what Jon said

6. bestnamever

bestnamever New Member

Thanks for the good advice guys, I can confidently keep using my lrn bullets

7. Anna_Purna

Anna_Purna New Member

Maybe the experts will chime in, but I have read also that by shooting a mag full of copper jacketed bullets when you are all finished for the day that they will help scrub out the lead in the lans of your barrel, etc

And you are welcome, Ma'am :D

8. JonM

JonM Moderator