Kimber or Ruger

Discussion in '1911 Forum' started by mrb1982, May 31, 2011.

1. mrb1982

mrb1982 New Member

I am fairly new to shooting handguns but have a hankering to get a 1911. Although I obviously like some of the higher end guns, I think it would be wise to start out with something a little bit less. What has caught my eye is the Kimber Custom series and the new Ruger SR1911. I've read a fair amount in some searches that I have done on here. Just kinda curious on any other input. Personally at this point I am leaning toward something like a Kimber Custom or TLE. Any opinion/factual input would be great. Thanks.

2. KMO

KMO New Member

Ruger, Hands Down

You will not be disappointed if you go with the Ruger. The SR1911 is going to cut into the sales of so-called "higher end" 1911's because Ruger is offering a comparable pistol at a much more reasonable price. The fit, finish, & performance are outstanding. And, since it's made where the good stuff is, don't forget the dead rattlesnake grips...

[​IMG]

3. towboater

towboater Active Member

4. rifleman1

rifleman1 New Member

i would go with the ruger.

5. DinkyDauDon

DinkyDauDon New Member

For your first 1911 you can't go wrong picking the Ruger. Shoot the heck out of it then figure out what you want different for your second one...thrust me, there will be a second!

[​IMG]

6. mrb1982

mrb1982 New Member

lol well said hahahaha

7. Gojubrian

Gojubrian New Member

Get a Kimber!

I'll wait on a Ruger. While everything I have heard about them has been good so far, they haven't had them out long enough to really tell.

I wonder how many SR1911's have been sold?

I can tell you how many Kimber's.......50,000-60,000 a year for quite some time. You hear a few complaints about Kimber, but not bad at all if you compare the numbers!

8. B1911

B1911 New Member