Separate names with a comma.
Discussion in 'Blackpowder & Musket' started by rocker, Apr 9, 2007.
Are you only allowed to keep so much gun powder at one time in the USA or does it vary per State?
Interesting question. I never thought this was a problem. I'll have to check around.
The laws have changed in recent years concerning black powder. When I buy it I only get 2 pounds at a time. If you buy more than that the seller has to fill out some sort of BATFE form. So I don't bother with it.
You can get a dealer's permit of some sort. I don't know what is involved.
I'm in a Civil War reenacting group and we have a member who buys in bulk but I've never asked about the process.
How much do you use every time you shoot?
50 grains a pop. It's easy to go through a couple of pounds of Goex during a two day event.
What I'd like to find is a carrier that will ship triple Se7en without a ridiculous $20 surcharge. I used to buy black powder for about $5/lb when I was a teenager, now this new "propellant" costs $25/lb plus the fee for transporting it. I live in the Texas Panhandle and ride a bicycle, take a public bus to Plainview to get things I can't get in town or get shipped for a reasonable price, but they won't let me carry triple se7en on the damn bus.
I'm just not gonna pay $55 for a pound of fake blackpowder. Anybody know a legal workaround? Thanks
The Lone Weasel
Most Walmarts and gun shops sell BP substitutes, most sell for about $15.00 a pound, reenactors usually buy wholesale under a club lic., there ain't no legal short cuts, ps- Black powder is still the best.
I have seen it (Real BP) recently for as low as 9.00 a pound. Some mail order houses will throw in the shipping and hazmat if you buy 25 pounds. Get your club together for a group purchase. You can't legally resell the powder without a Federal Explosives License, but you can ' distribute " it to club members.
If you go somewhere and buy it, they won't sell you more than 25 pounds.
Even if you take a car load of people with you, you can't carry
more than 50 pounds in a private vehicle.
Check Maine Powder House or Upper Missouri Trading.
State or local laws may be more restrictive, but BATF regs. limit you to a max. of 50 lbs in your posession at one time. In some cases they do allow a greater amount, but then your looking at special storage locations, specific powder magizines, and a host of other issues.