Just bought new AR... new to this need input

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by Raineman, Feb 6, 2012.

1. Raineman

Raineman New Member

Hello all. I am new to this and thought I would ask for some input. I just ordered my Stag Arms Ar-15 1L. Yes a left handed one. Any suggestions on this rifle. Has anyone had any dealings with it. And preferences on MODS to do to it. Please let me know. Your knowledge is like gold to me. Thanks

2. purehavoc

purehavoc New Member

Get some ammo and give us a range report , every single gun will vary a little bit , I might suggest buying a couple boxes of brass and a couple boxes of steel cased ammo to see if it will shoot what ever you put in it .

3. mjkeat

mjkeat New Member

Don't go slapping a bunch of CAA, Mako, UTG or whatever lights, lasers, grip pods and all that other junk that everyone is doing. "Tricking Out" "Modding" w/o knowing what you need in order to shoot better is pointless as is slapping on as much cheap **** as possible because some other idiot did it as well because it looks cool. Well it doesn't.

4. Quentin

Quentin New Member

Until you're sure it works fine, making changes is the last thing you should do. Shoot lots of ammo, give her a good shakeout and zero. Ammo and good mags, that's what you want now.

5. Raineman

Raineman New Member

Thanks guys. I was only thinking about changing the hand rail. I am with MJKEAT, I dont want my rifle looking like and transformer. Quality over quantity. I will re post after I go to the range . Thanks again guys

6. rifleshooter474

rifleshooter474 New Member

These UTG Rail Guards are the best I have found, they fit tightly and being rubber protect much better then hard plastic guards. They are in small sections so you can really fit them in where needed. Cost $12.95US.
    Just because they don't cost like a set of Wilson Combat rail covers at around $100 US does not mean there not quality.
    I have my UTG rail guards on my $2,900 FNSCAR 16s.
    [​IMG]