Issues With Berretta 92FS Inox?

Discussion in 'Beretta Forum' started by dkleiner, Apr 28, 2014.

1. dkleiner

dkleiner New Member

Hello, all:

I am new to firearms, and my first purchase was a CZ 75BD Police. I have become rather proficient with it at the range and am looking to build a small collection (slowly).

My son, 16, has been shooting an assortment of guns with his grandfather for the last two years, and I've been told that he's a natural. After buying him a Ruger MK III .22 Target, I decided to get involved. Great father/son sport.

In any event, I was at the range yesterday looking for another gun, and I really liked the 92FS Inox, 9mm. As the shop was quite busy, I put a deposit on it so that I could come back on Thursday when they're not as busy, do the State application and take the gun home.

After doing that, I did more research and understand that there have been issues with this gun. Our military has found issue with them in the field and no longer uses them?

Can someone with experience and knowledge about these guns bring me up to date on there dependability and reliability? Will I have to make aftermarket mods in order to use the weapon as intended?

My use for guns at this point is target shooting and home defense. Down the road I would like to carry.

Thanks for your time.

2. Mercator

Mercator New Member

The 92F is a very reliable pistol, including the INOX one of which I have owned. The early problems with frame (or slide) cracking were eliminated long ago. The stories still linger on the Internet, as it happens. Buy a 92 with confidence.

3. JonM

JonM Moderator

Utter internet bs. No 92 that had the military issue problems in the late 80's early 90's made it into the civilian market. all were retrofitted and are either still in service or decomissioned.

The 92fs is one of the few guns you dont have to do a thing to out of the box other than an initial cleaning and buying ammo.

They are stupid reliable, accurate, dependable.