Is there an Electrician in the house?

Discussion in 'The Club House' started by string1946, May 18, 2014.

1. string1946

string1946 New Member

I worked for the power company for a long time but I was an operator in a power plant and not an electrician. I'm going to run a circuit for a Lincoln AC 225 welder in my garage that will be about a 20' run. The welder says it needs a 220V 50A input. I doubt it will ever pull that much current and if it did it would only be for short periods. I'm leaning toward a 50 amp breaker and #8 wire. What do you think?

2. dango

dango Well-Known Member Lifetime Supporter

Most times , more is better . 8 gauge cable is fine and I would go with 50A for potential spikes in amperage draw . OMHO .....:)

3. kytowboater

kytowboater Active Member

Depends on the wire ran. THHN insulation (thinks it's the most common, think romex) #8 is good to 50 amps. I would run #6. Rated to 65 amps even in a continual draw. Plus it's less resistance keeping wire cooler and your energy costs down a little.

Stick with the 50a beaker though.

Sent from my iPhone using Firearms Talk

4. kytowboater

Just make sure whatever wire you run, you check the ampacity of the insulation.

5. readytogo

readytogo New Member

A 50 amp circuit requires a #6 gauge wire if copper and #4 gauge wire is aluminum is used.
    Voltage drop: 0.79
    Voltage drop percentage: 0.36%
    Voltage at the end: 219.21volts,nohing to worry about.

6. SSGN_Doc

SSGN_Doc Well-Known Member

All I know about electricity is that it involves magic smoke. Every time I let the magic smoke out of the system, stuff stops working.:D

Sounds like others are better equipped to give you the answers you need.

Last edited: May 18, 2014
  7. kytowboater

Can't be anymore clear than this.

8. kytowboater

Stick with copper.

9. therewolf

therewolf New Member

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

This. Copper is stronger, dissipates heat better,
    and is less prone to brittleness and carbon
    scoring.