Is my shell deflector getting too much use??

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by DropZone889, Mar 28, 2014.

1. DropZone889

DropZone889 New Member

This is my first build and here are the specs first :
    BCM upper
    16" 1/7 Carbine Melonite M4 barrel
    NFA Lower w/ RRA Single stage LPK
    Magpul B.A.D. Lever
    Adams Arms Piston Kit
    Magpul MBUS Pro Black F + R
    YHM phantom YH-28-5M
    Magpul MOE Handguards, +Grip, RVG, CTR... all in FDE.
    Surefire 6P LED

Now for my question, in my pic below is my shell deflector getting too much wear? I have put about 300+ rounds through this new build, my gas setting for the AA's gas block is at the 12 o'clock full open position. I just want to make sure this wear is normal, yes I know that's what the deflector is for but for under 400 rounds is this ok?? ImageUploadedByFirearms Talk1396004159.198901.jpg ImageUploadedByFirearms Talk1396004183.127715.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Firearms Talk

2. JonM

JonM Moderator

Might be cycling fast with too much gas. A well tuned ar15 should toss brass without hitting the deflector and the cases should be in the 4oclock position in a neat pile.

3. jjfuller1

jjfuller1 New Member

perhaps a heavier buffer would help slow the cycle enough? at least you know its doing what its supposed to lol.

4. DropZone889

DropZone889 New Member

I am using a standard carbine buffer and I now remember that they recommend a heavier buffer for AA's systems, which I will now research, thanks for the help pointing me in the right direction!

Drop

Sent from my iPhone using Firearms Talk

5. samnev

samnev New Member

Deflector Problem