Is it true that the only gun that can truely be silenced in a .22 ruger?

Discussion in '.22 Rifle/Rimfire Discussion' started by Tazorac, Jun 17, 2011.

1. Tazorac

Tazorac New Member

I've read that the only gun that can truly be silenced is a .22 ruger..is that true? I'm a gun novice

2. opaww

opaww New Member

No many guns can be silenced; the effectiveness of a suppressed weapon is dependent on the quality of the suppresser and the ammo being subsonic. The SIG mosquito and the Walther P22 are among the most suppressed pistols in society today.

Do a youtube search for silenced hand guns and you can view many guns on there that are silenced and see for yourself.

Last edited: Jun 17, 2011

3. dnthmn2004

dnthmn2004 New Member

The state of being 'silenced' or suppressed (correct term), is the noise being below a certain decibel level. Many firearms are very capable of reaching below that level, even shotguns.

4. c3shooter

c3shooter Administrator Staff Member

[ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vvF4yurWSc0]YouTube - ‪Silenced 1895 Nagant revolver (NFA)‬‏[/ame]

There are 3 components of noise- muzzle blast, bullet breaking sound barrier, and action cycling. The Ruger does OK, but there ARE quieter suppressed guns.

And be careful about taking advice on other matters from the person that told you that.

5. winds-of-change

winds-of-change The Balota's Staff Member

I am absolutely amazed at how quiet that is. :eek:

6. sparky80

sparky80 New Member

I shot a silenced P22 last week and could'nt believe how quiet it was. Sounded like an air rifle. I'm saving for my own now.:D

7. c3shooter

The quietest suppressed firearm I have shot was a Delisle carbine. Mating of a Lee Enfield to a Thompson barrel, BIG suppressor, caliber .45 ACP. So quiet, you would hear the firing pin hit the primer.

8. Hawg

Hawg New Member

There's a lot of semi autos that are so quiet all you hear is the bolt working but you'd be surprised how loud the bullet impact is even from a .22.