Is Century International Arms a good place to get an AK?

Discussion in 'AK & SKS Discussion' started by GratefulHead77, Jul 20, 2011.

1. GratefulHead77

GratefulHead77 New Member

I am in the market for an AK and came across Century Arms, any recommendations, comments, or reviews about them would be helpful. I checked out cheaper than dirt and found them on there, still not sure of another brand to go with, cuz I am just getting into the whole AK idea... Suggestions???

2. doctherock

doctherock New Member

I own a Century Arms AK74 and I love it.

3. yellowhand

yellowhand New Member

If any AK has most of its parts, it will work most of the time regardless of what's done to it.
    Got three from century and all run fine.
    These things are very hard to screw up.
    Just make sure it takes regular mags, not one of those 10 round things that won't accept normal 30 round mags.

4. DrGonzo11

DrGonzo11 New Member

AK's and their variants are almost impossible to screw up if assembled correctly.......that being said........if somebody can screw it up its Century...

5. Ruzai

Ruzai New Member

Century Arms is known for their manufacturing screw ups. I've seen more than my share and I own two guns with the two main ones. That being said, the guns still go bang every time I pull the trigger and can still hit a target if you know how to fix or better yet avoid the problems.
    For an AK variant from Century, look for a canted front sight assembly first off. That's the most irritating but fixable thing for these AKs. It better be a damn good deal if you buy one with the canted sight because you're going to have to replace it more than likely.
    The less drastic problem with these rifles is the hammer rides just a bit high in the reciever which can get the bolt to stay back every now and then when you're cycling it by hand.
    Of course check to make sure it cycles smoothly enough to make sure something like the gas-tube isnt binding.