Is carrying concealed extra mags worth it?

Discussion in 'Concealed Carrying & Personal Protection' started by TexasBear, Nov 17, 2012.

1. TexasBear

TexasBear New Member

I'm new to concealed carrying and wanted to know if having the extra mags is worth carrying?

I have grown up around guns and a great shot. I understand in a draw and shoot situation that ammo goes faster than expected but is an extra mag really going to help at that moment? I'm going to carry a glock 19 gen 4 which is 15+1. My thought on it is if I need more than that then this situation is how many am I taking with me. I understand the principle of "well u might need it," but in that case I should just carry my AR around.

Is it necessary or just preference?

2. Vikingdad

Vikingdad New Member

somewhere along the line I have read that the average number of shots fired in a shootout not involving law enforcement is 3 shots. Not sure if that is a grand total of shots fired bay all shooters or what. 16 should be plenty IMO, just practice practice practice your marksmanship. Then again I live in CA and can't get a CCW because of the politics.

3. rjd3282

rjd3282 New Member

Every now and then Vikingdad and I agree on something. :)

4. spack762

spack762 New Member

I've read an after action report were three men where ambushed by 10 to 17 guys. Two of the three men where killed at the start. The suviver returned fire. 17rnds later the bad guys where left. He cut them down with his knife when they charged him.

I can dig up the refracens. Trying not sound like a jerk, but why limit your self? I carry two reloads, knife or two and a flashlight. Sometimes a seconed gun. If I could carry my AK instead i would! But I can't, I carry what I can and practice. I'm a good shoot too, but how good are you when the bad guys shoot back, or first.

5. danf_fl

danf_fl Retired Supporter

The magazine is THE weakest part of any semi-auto pistol.
    If the magazine screws up, then your pistol is a rock.