Iron sights

Discussion in '.22 Rifle/Rimfire Discussion' started by Archenbow, Apr 30, 2012.

1. Archenbow

Archenbow New Member

Okay, so I've been shooting for about 6 years now (since I was 10) though not entirely actively the whole time. I consider myself somewhat of a marksman at long range with a scoped .22, but I've always been wondering if I'm doing something wrong with my iron sights. Should I have to focus on one sight, and then focus on the other, alternating until I feel comfortable that they're lined up, and then focus on the target? Usually I can't hit diddly squat with iron sights so that tells me I must be doing something wrong. Any info or advice on how to do it properly would be much appreciated.

Thanks, Archenbow

2. Archenbow

Archenbow New Member

Thanks that does help. However my rear sight is very out of focus. Should I focus more on it?
    Thanks.

3. hiwall

hiwall Well-Known Member

It is impossible for the human eye to focus on these three things at once(front and rear sights and target). If you shoot good with a scope then you can hold steady. You just have to practice with the iron sights. When I pull the trigger the rear sight is is way out of focus for me.

4. jjfuller1

jjfuller1 New Member

that link was pretty spot on. i'll just re-state... focus on the clear tip of the front sight post. your rear sight and target will be blurry... just split the blurry evenly on all sides

5. unclebear

unclebear New Member

no offense ment but you might need glasses if things are blurry on a regular basis, for a while I couldn't hit jack **** with my 30-30 went to my doctor found out somethings got some glasses and now I can at least hit a man target at 70 yards.

6. Archenbow

Archenbow New Member

Alright thanks a lot guys. @unclebear I do have glasses actually. That's how I see the front post at all. :p But practice that today. Thanks again!

7. Archenbow

Archenbow New Member