Firearms Talk banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone, new member here. Been stalking the forums since I am building my first AR. Anyway I am also a new Iowa resident and am new to permit to acquire. I am in Blackhawk county, did the online version, received an email 4 days ago that they are mailing my permit. Anyone else do the online permit, if so how long before your permit showed up?

·
Premium Member
7,891 Posts
Hey everyone, new member here. Been stalking the forums since I am building my first AR. Anyway I am also a new Iowa resident and am new to permit to acquire. I am in Blackhawk county, did the online version, received an email 4 days ago that they are mailing my permit. Anyone else do the online permit, if so how long before your permit showed up?
Welcome to the forum.:) We don't have any of that crap in Bama so I can't answer your question but I am sure someone here can. Enjoy!;)

·
Supporting Member
13,279 Posts
Welcome to the FTF! Glad to have you join us.
You might check this out but here is what I found!

Iowa state permit is not required to purchase a shotgun, or rifle. Under Iowa Code Section 724.15, a permit is required to purchase a handgun. The buyer should be 21 years or older to apply for a permit.
I am sure IOWA SHOOTER here on the Forum can clarify this issue for you! He is very aware of the laws of Iowa at the present time. He is the Iowa Gun Guru!:)

·
Premium Member
G42 G43x P95DC CZ82 Mak CZ70 AR etc.
5,332 Posts
Time will depend on your County Sheriff and his office folks. Your choice of doing it online was a BIG mistake! Should always just go down to your Sheriff's Office to fill out form. May take 5 days only. Wait a few more days. Can take 30 if they have any questions from the past.

Also, since you are a new State resident, the background check may have to go to Missouri also. You say four days ago? Well, they don't work on the weekends either.