Interview with BATF on Wednesday...

Discussion in 'NFA/Class 3 & FFL Discussion' started by Scratch, Jan 19, 2012.

1. Scratch

Scratch New Member

Going for my 01 and my interview is coming up this Wednesday, looking for any tips or questions I should ask, or if you have a question you'd like me to ask him.

Will be a home based business in WI, and I have my letter of Approval for the town. (no license needed)

If you can think of anything, let me know please. I'll let you know how it went.
    Can't wait to start selling!!

2. 2ndAmendmentFreedom

2ndAmendmentFreedom New Member

I am no expert when it comes to being an FFL however I picked up a 1911 from a home operated FFL yesterday and the guy made it clear that he had to protect his house from intruders more than anyone else. The fact that you're a home FFL makes you a potential target for robberies so I'm pretty sure in the interview they'll ask how you plan on protecting your inventory. The guy had a huge dog, metal door and was carrying 1911 loaded at all times. That's my 2 cents :)

3. tellmaster207

tellmaster207 New Member

Good luck with your interview. Hope everything goes smooth for you.

Attached Files:

4. Scratch

Scratch New Member

Yeah I've thought of that... I was a security system installer for 13 years so I have an excellent system and multiple cameras already. I also have a rottweiler and a vicious Pomeranian. And of course... I carry all the time as well as my wife who also works from home.

5. joehawk

joehawk New Member

Must have a "secure location" i.e. gun safe, gun cabinet, gun locker, or hd wire cage for your inventory I was told.

6. c3shooter

c3shooter Administrator Staff Member

Seriusly- get a BIG legal pad, couple of good pens, some coffee, and take notes. Most of the ispectors will be about to spend some time coaching you on best practices when selling and buying. There is some good info that you want to be sure to take notes on.