In a Dillemma

Discussion in 'AK & SKS Discussion' started by easterner123, Sep 3, 2013.

1. easterner123

easterner123 New Member

I am in a bit of a tight spot right now. I currently own a Bushmaster xm15-e2s and I love the weapon. It is a tack driver, has low recoil and is a weapon platform I have a lot of experience with. However, I looked at the price of ammo recently and with my budget, I cannot afford to shoot this weapon anymore.

So I looked into getting an AK style rifle. From what I remember, they used to be around $500-600 new. I figured if I sold the AR I could just trade it in for a Kalashnikov. WHAT HAPPENED!?!?! Suddenly WASRs are worth $700-800? The 7.62x39 is still way cheaper than any .223 I've found but golly that just seems ridiculous to pay that much for an AK.

What are your suggestions? Should I dump the AR and get an AK or is it not worth selling my Bushmaster for $750 and then trying to pick up an AK? What rifle would you recommend for my price range? Is it worth the trade? I want to have one of these rifles because I like having the high magazine capacity and I also have an inkling they will be banned in my lifetime.

2. mountainman13

mountainman13 New Member

Keep the ar and save up money.

3. NC1760

NC1760 New Member

TOTALLY agree with Mountain on this. Stick with the rifle you know & love. Once it's all said and done and the dust settles from the horse-trading you really wouldn't save that much. My suggestion is set yourself up on Gunbot http://gunbot.net/ and Ammoseek http://ammoseek.com/ and keep an eye out on the major retailers (Cabela's, Gander Mnt, Bass Pro, etc) and know that the flow of ammo is getting better every week. Even my local Ma & Pa has plenty of Federal .223 and Remmy 5.56 for about $9 to $11 for a box of 20..... Unless there is yet another panic, things should only improve. Just buy a box here & there when you get paid and stock up.

4. FatTire

FatTire New Member