im new to the ar world, looking for advice.

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by glock219, Aug 30, 2012.

1. glock219

glock219 New Member

Like whats the top brands, is it better to build your own, and whats the best calibers to own.

2. oldpapps

oldpapps New Member

Top brands - subjective, costly, many.
    Build your own - better to learn and understand the operation and mechanics of the weapon.
    Calibers - start with the standard .223/5.56 chamber and go from there.

Fortunately most quality AR components are trying to meet the 'mil spec' standards in the .223/5.56 size. I have no first hand knowledge of ARs in the 308/7.62 size, so I chant comment on them.

Get your feet wet before building that Olympic size pool. Your views may/will change.

3. jeepejeep

jeepejeep New Member

I've never built one but I hear that's the way to go if you're handy at all. From what I've read, it's not too hard. Others can tell what components are best.
    If you want to buy, there's a huge selection. I have an older Bushmaster that's great but I understand they are not too great quality wise now, Stag Arms makes a really nice one as well as S&W. There's more but these are the ones I know. As for caliber, I agree to start with the .223/5.56 and get other uppers in calibers that interest you as you go.
    Good luck!

4. okdonk

okdonk New Member

One advice... Get ready to get BRD ;)

5. GaryGlock

GaryGlock New Member

I would look at stag arms , smith and wesson or Palmetto state armory for a nice out of the box a.r. as far as building your own, skys the limit..or should I say how deep do your pockets go.

6. purehavoc

purehavoc New Member

They are like the barbie doll for men , so much to dress it in its unbelievable , AND!!!!!
    You can have just one :D

7. NitroxAZ

NitroxAZ New Member