I'm new to glock

Discussion in 'Glock Forum' started by xdm11chad, Jul 24, 2012.

1. xdm11chad

xdm11chad New Member

I bought a gen 3 glock 23c for my birthday, we'll actually my wife did so anything I need to know about this particular handgun? I'm taking it out this weekend to shoot the snot outta it:) my main reason for this gun will be carry and home defense

2. rigjumpr

rigjumpr New Member

happy birthday.
    Sight picture, sight alignment and trigger control. That should do ya.

3. mountainman13

mountainman13 New Member

No cast lead bullets, jacketed only.
    Keep your finger away from the trigger until you're ready to fire.
    That's about it.

4. vincent

vincent New Member

5. xdm11chad

xdm11chad New Member

Any suggestion on 40 ammo for defense

6. KeysKelly

KeysKelly New Member

Every gun will like different ammo. Even two guns of the exact same make and model made at the same time with serial numbers just one digit apart can like different ammo's. Best thing to do is pick a few that have good reputations and shoot a box of each through your gun. I few I would suggest to try are Golden Saber, Gold Dot, Hydra-Shok, Ranger-T, Hornady Critical Defense or CorBon.

My personal favorite for a .40 is 165 grain Golden Saber but try them all yourself and see what your gun likes, what you like and what you shoot well out of your gun. It will be a costly experiment but one that could save your life. Plus, it's fun.

7. StoneCat

StoneCat New Member

I use Winchester bonded pdx-1. My Glock 21sf runs it with no trouble.
    If I'm at the range, I'll run Remington UMC, and I've run Hornady critical defense. Both with no problems.

If day if you try ANY brand/load/etc. run a box through your Glock @ the range BEFORE you try it under duress...

8. broke-again124

broke-again124 New Member

I use 140 gr corbon dpx for my 23. And my sig 226.

9. cj84

cj84 New Member

Glock eats anything you feed it think of austin Powers fat basterd get n ma belly thats a glock