I'm new to AR's, should i go lefty or am I overthinking it?

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by mayscat44, Sep 8, 2012.

1. mayscat44

mayscat44 New Member

I've caught the fever recently and now I MUST HAVE an AR15. I saw a beautiful Stag at my local shop for about $900. Then I did a little research on Stag and found out that the owner is a lefty and they make lefties. However I cannot find one and I have a feeling that if I order one that I'm gonna pay extra for the LH version. Is it even worth it? Am I overthinking it? I just thought that if I'm gonna drop almost $1000 on something then I should get what I want. Then again I've shot standard (RH) semi-auto rifles all my life, no problems...thanks guys

2. clr8ter

clr8ter New Member

I recently bought a LH bolt action. I like it, but I'm not sure I'd buy another. It provides me no more benefit over a RH one. (I have both in bolt action) Same goes for my Beretta CX4. It comes set up for RH, and is totally adjustable to LH, no parts needed. I haven't done it yet..........

One thing about a BA rifle with a thumbhole stock.........none of your RH buddies can/will shoot it........

3. drvsafe

drvsafe New Member

I'm a lefty. If I were buying a bolt action I wouldn't buy a LH model. If I were buying a DI AR style I would buy it LH. They expel a good amount gas out from the bcg and with a lefty using a RH rifle that is RIGHT in your face. Needless to say if you're looking at the model 8 (piston driven) I might not rush to get it LH. It's a few dollars more for an LH model and you bet you can spend that $$ more wisely (read as ammo, optics, other "needed" accessories).