Idea for a new gun...

Discussion in 'General Handgun Discussion' started by JW357, Aug 21, 2013.

1. JW357

JW357 New Member

I had an idea for a new gun a few days ago, and I really think its possible if someone puts some effort into. It might not be cost effective, or useful, but I think it would be cool.

A self-loading revolver (a semi-auto/revolver hybrid).

Basically my idea is its a revolver on the outside, but you can insert a magazine into the pistol grip. You also load the chambers like normal. So after three shot have been fired, and there are now empty chambers, the gun automatically starts feeding rounds from the magazine (in the pistol grip) into the empty chambers.

You could have a... I don't know, 15 round capacity revoler?

Obviously I'm not an engineer, so I won't be designing this. But if any of you want to go ahead and try, be my guest. I expect 10% royalties on all sales, though.

2. BillM

BillM Active Member Supporter

Get a Webley Fosbery and a Dardick. Put them in a dark room with some soft music and the gentle
    perfume of Hoppe's #9. Wait.

The offspring should be all you want. Semi-auto revolver with the ammo in the grip.

3. hiwall

hiwall Well-Known Member

How would the empties self eject?

4. therewolf

therewolf New Member

This adds a whole new chapter to the saying

"re-inventing the wheel"...

5. BillM

BillM Active Member Supporter

That's old news too. The Austrian Sederl patent of 1879 was for a self
    ejecting revolver, Gasser and a few others played around with the
    system. Basically the hammer fall hit a lever that pushed out the previously
    fired round.

The Dardick took another approach---triangular "tround" ammunition, with
    a open outer cylinder. Neat concept W-A-Y before it's time.

6. danf_fl

danf_fl Retired Supporter

7. c3shooter

c3shooter Administrator Staff Member

8. JW357

JW357 New Member

9. JW357

JW357 New Member

Good question.