Featured I have a question for my AR buddies out there.

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by wes48, Oct 4, 2017.

1. wes48

wes48 New Member

Ok guys im not a AR expert and i have recently purchased Ruger 5.56. My brother and i had went to the shooting this past weekend and fist mag went through no problem. 2nd mag third shot bullet didnt fire. So i ejected the shell and looked at the firing pin mark and looks like it barely hit. So rest of the mag went smooth. 3rd mag same thing 4th and 5th bullet same thing no fire. So my question is, do i need to send my gun back to the manufacturer or is there something that i can look into to fix myself? I have asked around to some locals and they have not heard of anybody having this problem. On the picture below it is not my bullet. This is to show you about what mine is doing. Mine is not as much as the middle one its just a little softer but can see hit

Attached Files:

2. Triumphman

Triumphman Active Member

You might have more than one thing happening.

One is a weak firing spring that with each shot it gets weaker, but still strong enough to fire off other rounds. Get different firing spring.

Firing Pin is possibly bent and rubbing hole and slowing down enough to fire off most rounds, but not ones with a possible harder primer. Replace Firing Pin.

Firing Pin not within spec and reaching out far enough to give good hit on primer. Replace Firing Pin.

Put more oil in firing pin hole, as metal could be rubbing against each other or oil is burning off quickly and slowing down the firing process from one round to next. Use slightly more oil, change gun oil to synthetic oil to not burn away so quickly. I like running to almost the dripping point with Mobil1, but any good synthetic oil is still better than just a cheap old fashioned gun oil.