I am not an alarmist but.... about the outbreak

Discussion in 'The Club House' started by bluez, Jan 25, 2020.

1. bluez

bluez Well-Known Member

This is what I wrote before.. elsewhere:
    (I am not a medical doctor but am (among other things) a Biologist and during the Ebola outbreak I predicted the Epidemiology successfully, ie. that it would not fizzle right away in West Africa but that it would never jump over to US in any epidemic way and that it would not become a pandemic )

"All,

Ill attempt to have a nuanced conversation on this (which is always hard to do via email)

They have nearly 10 times as many folks die due to traffic accidents in a single day as what they reported so far in deaths from this disease for the month.They also have on average over the year ten times as many flu deaths, per day (!), as so far has been reported for 2019-nCov

Based on history this wouldn't worry their Gov't at all.

So I feel the words (what they tell WHO in data) and the actions (quarantines of major cities) do not match up.

Sure people will say, they always underreport and we expect that.. but anecdotal evidence (reports from families which had a death from this disease that was recorded as something else, etc) suggest more significant underreporting than expected.

Keeping in mind that what the Chinese Gov't is doing is very very EXPENSIVE both in money and in political capital. These quarantines will cost them tens of billions of dollars, if they keep them up for any significant lengthy amount time they might actually affect Chinas GDP for the year in a measurable way.

This is something that leadership cares about.

Also the Chinese lunar new year which is tomorrow, ....it is by far the most major holiday in the country. It is Christmas and New Year's rolled together. Tens of Millions of workers travel during this time to see their families and it is for some folks the only chance they go back home during the entire year.