Firearms Talk banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7,775 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sorry, I didn't make my introduction earlier.

I've been a long time shooter and belong to several gun forums but recently found this one and see that it is a great spot for more generalized shooters than some which are more focused on particular makes.

I started shooting when I was about 8. Parents sent me to my first shooting camp when I was 12. I'm 42 now, so I've been around guns for awhile. I like to grow in my knowledge on many platforms. I really focused on rifles and pistols, and have recently figured out that I need more rounding in my skills and knowledge of the shotgun.

My handle gives some clues about me. I've been in the Navy as a Hospital Corpsman for just about 19 years now. Back in 2000 I opted to go the submarine route and became a Independent Duty Corpsman for Submarines. I've spent over 10 of the last 12 years working in the submarine force. Currently I'm attached to a SSGN submarine in Georgia, but am getting ready to transfer across country to Washington, where I will be going back to a hospital, and most likely a ground deployment mixed in there in the next three years before I retire.

I like the outdoors, and have dabbled in bow hunting, trapping, black powder, fishing, fly fishing, deep sea fishing, diving, boating, kayaking and a lot of shooting. Gun interests are very broad, but I have devoted a lot of time to the AR-15, the Beretta 92, the Mossberg 500 and civilian versions of firearms that I may be issued. I've also become a fan of 1911s and Glocks for different competition uses. I also like Soviet small arms, mostly in the interest of being proficient in their use if I ever needed to use them in the field.