How to recrown?

Discussion in 'Gunsmithing Forum' started by Mosin, Oct 2, 2012.

1. Mosin

Mosin Well-Known Member

Hey all, I'm thinking about taking a few inches off my .22 barrel, then recrowning it. I've never done this before but have decided this rifle would be a good start for this project.
    Does anyone know how to do this? Any advice, instructions, etc?...
    Yes, I have access to a full machine shop.

2. masterPsmith

masterPsmith New Member

The barrel can be hand cut with a hacksaw.Then the best way to re-crown would be on a lathe, if you have one. You can also do it by hand with the proper tools, but would have to purchase them (not cheap). I would suggest you take it to a gunsmith to have it done, it would be cheaper and should be done right. If you want to check into hand tools, check for barrel crowning tools at www.brownells.com .

Jim........

3. hiwall

hiwall Active Member

You don't really have to crown the barrel. You can de-bur it and that's enough(if you want). Barrels are crowned for looks and to protect the bore right at the muzzle. If you want to crown it then listen to masterPsmith. Midwayusa also has stuff for crowning.

4. Mosin

Mosin Well-Known Member

Like I said, I have full access to a machine shop. So i have a lathe.
    Now, this just highlights my ignorance, but I thought a crown was for improved accuracy...

5. trip286

trip286 New Member

I have no idea how the just for looks idea came about.

Crowning does help with accuracy, as a good target crown is designed to allow the gases to escape evenly around the bullet as it leaves the muzzle.

6. c3shooter

c3shooter Administrator Staff Member

A crown provides an even muzzle, so that the gasses are not expelled more to one side than the other (pushes bullet off course), and protects that last little smidge of rifling at the muzzle from getting dinged up.