How to check headstock for looseness?

Discussion in 'Gunsmithing Forum' started by unioncreek, Dec 23, 2012.

1. unioncreek

unioncreek New Member

We have two lathes at work a newer South Bend has a six foot bed. We have another older South Bend with a four foot bed. I would like to be able to crown and chamber my own barrel. I would prefer to use the newer South Bend, but I work for the federal government. Most people wouldn't mind me working on a firearm, bit there's some that might. The older lathe is off site and the manager of that facility wouldn't mind me leaving a barrel in the lathe. I'm a rookie at this and have not been doing very precise work, but would like to. How can I check the headstock on the lathe to see if its precise enough for gun work?

2. stoneam2006

stoneam2006 New Member

From what Ik about them from the schooling I have as long as you indicate the part in it should be accurate to whatever you indicated to....machinehead knows more as he is a very good machinist maybe try a pm to him is a regular to the diy forum.

3. stoneam2006

stoneam2006 New Member

I have talked to machine head as he is a close friend and he said chuck up a piece of bar stock horizontaly and put indicator on headstock and pull back ind forth and look for movement on dial that will tell you slop

4. unioncreek

unioncreek New Member

Hi,

Thanks for the info. Did he say how much movement?

Bob

5. stoneam2006

stoneam2006 New Member

Any movement shows wear how much is what you will find out. Just remember the farther out from the headstock you machine the more the movement will show. And the less rigid the part will be don't be afraid to pm machinehead he will be more than happy to help you loves to promote diy gun builders

6. MachineHead

MachineHead New Member