How Often Do You Change Your Oil in Your Car or Truck ???...

Discussion in 'The Club House' started by LONGHAIR, Nov 27, 2011.

1. LONGHAIR

LONGHAIR New Member

I got my oil changed today and now they say you can go 7,000 Miles before your next oil change...I wen't from 3,000 to 5,000 miles and I know oil is better but 7,000 miles is a bit far to me...Oil is Cheap..Parts and Labor is-not...My dad was a mechanic and said that all the time....The young guy changing oil says it's the new standard...You tell me ???...:confused:.....I never Rotated my Tires but I'm going to start,with the new-one I just got......

2. Axxe55

Axxe55 The Apocalypse Is Coming.....

i have been a mechanic for many years and i still believe in 3000-5000 mile oil changes, even if using synthetic oils. i don't think you can overdo an oil change, worst case is spending the money for the oil. in 2006, i bought a new Chevrolet Silverado truck, had an oil change indicator on the instrument cluster, i had already changed the oil three times by the time it told me change the oil.

3. winds-of-change

winds-of-change The Balota's Staff Member

I have the oil changed in my car every 3-4,000. I want my car to last a long time and I'm doing everything I can to see that it does.

4. trip286

trip286 New Member

I change the oil every 3k because my vehicles are a bit older and have some miles. My sister has a brand new sequoia (toyota) that the owners manual says toyota's new proprietary synthetic only needs to be changed every 10k miles. Amsoil is supposed to be a real high mileage oil too. I just can't bring myself to go 50k between oil changes though.

5. Axxe55

Axxe55 The Apocalypse Is Coming.....

i know what you mean. but as far as i'm concerned, i change my oil when it suits me, not some engineer writing the owners manual!

6. Trez

Trez Well-Known Member

I have old cars too, so about every 3,000... unless a fuel pump goes out, then the oil gets changed with the pump..

7. rjd3282