Firearms Talk banner
1 - 20 of 78 Posts

·
Registered
1,422 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
My first adult job was in Construction. I carried a knife on my tool belt but RARELY if ever used it (that I remember).

I usually had a utility knife on my belt and if I need to cut something used that.

In the army I don't recall ever carrying a knife in garrison although I usually had my Buck 110 or my Buck Lite in the field.

After the Army (still in the National Guard) I worked as a carpet installer for 5 years and carried a utilty knife specifically designed to cut carpet.

Then I worked in a factory for 7 years and my knife lived in my rollaway. I was still in the Guard and I carried my Buck Lite and a Gerber Multitool in the field (every month was a FTX).

The last 12 years I've worked as a Security Guard I carried a knife and Multitool every day/night. I used the Multitool frequently when part of my job was rehanging signs on the fence but rarely the knife.

Now in retirement I carry a knife (and still a multitool) everyday but about the only thing I use it for is opening mail

For all those years of carrying a knife f I almost never used one and does anyone else have similar experience

·
Supporting Member
13,109 Posts
I carry two every day as Pictured below!
And I use one or the other frequently,
Opening Boxes
Opening Plastic Display Containers (*For mostly weapons related items!)
Opening Corn Feed Bags
Clipping Fingernails (When broken while working)
Cutting Rope
And other tasks also with the Swiss Army Knife
And the Gerber also for Protection. It is Clipped at the top of my Right Pants Pocket.
I have carried both of them for years. In fact this is my second Swiss Army Knife. I wore the first one out over the years.
Tool Knife Kitchen utensil Everyday carry Tableware

Font Service Rectangle Fashion accessory Carmine

Reactions: RJF22553

·
Administrator
737 Posts