How do I

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by AlwaysAardvarks, Jun 25, 2012.

1. AlwaysAardvarks

AlwaysAardvarks New Member

remove the flash hider from my barrel? Wanna replace the birdcage style with a 3-prong, and I don't want to do any damage.

2. sputnik1988

sputnik1988 Active Member

Someone correct me if I'm wrong but... Unless its pinned or welded, just unscrew it.

3. powell0892

powell0892 New Member

I have never done it before but I hear it requires a nice amount of elbow grease.

4. oldpapps

oldpapps New Member

I understand that several type of 'lock tight' type materials are used. Some require heat others water to soften. I think I would first contact the manufacture for better advise.

5. SSGN_Doc

SSGN_Doc Well-Known Member

If it is installed correctly you would place the barrel in a vice using a barrel block that grips the barrel. Use an appropriate sized crescent wrench and remove it along with the crush washer. Install the new flash hider with a new crush washer or peel washer. Tourque to 18 ft/lbs.

6. MikeJK

MikeJK New Member

A healthy sized crescent is the tool of choice for me.

7. connectegr

connectegr New Member

I did this last week and attached a BattleComp. A barrel vise was recommended and I have to agree. I broke my vertical front grip tightening the new compensator. The original suppressor was easy to remove. Just a little elbow grease and a 10" adjustable wrench. The new compensator required a specific positioning. Finger tight the compensator stopped with the alignment at the 5 o'clock position (needed firm at 6:00). With the crush washer this required about 370* of turn to tighten and align. At 180* it became a test of wills. With the foregrip braced between my legs the vertical grip snapped at 280*. I vented my frustration for the final 1/4 turn. In the end, the alignment is perfect and the compensator works great.