Homemade bullet proof vest.

Discussion in 'The Club House' started by txpossum, Oct 31, 2013.

1. txpossum

txpossum New Member

There are several are several videos on youtube about how to make a bulletproof vest out of ordinary ceramic tile. Apparently you wrap each individual tile in duct tape, then tape three or so tiles together.

A guy at the cigar shop did this. Made himself a vest. When he tested it out, it stopped a 9mm, but (not surprisingly) failed stop (or even slow down) a .308 fired from about 19 feet away. He was really bummed about that, but my understanding is that very few commercial vest could do this.

I'm not sure how it would hold up against a .223; I suspect it would be pretty much one time use item.

Anybody have any thought/experience with homemade bulletproof items? Back when I was a criminal defense lawyer in Ft. Worth I thought of making a bulletproof briefcase, but never actually bothered to do it.

2. beaglesam

beaglesam Active Member

Home made bullet proof vest:eek: LMAO

3. txpossum

txpossum New Member

Sorta my reaction, but this guy was excited about the concept. Other videos showing how to make one out of fiberglass material.

I would think that if you actually NEED a bulletproof vest, this is not one area where one would want to cheap out.

4. txpossum

txpossum New Member

Ooooops. When testing a vest, make sure your buddy can hit center mass from 10 feet:

[ame]http://youtu.be/pPb5k4_lqaU[/ame]

5. DeltaF

DeltaF New Member

There's another one where the guy gets shot with 9mmFMJ point blank wearing his vest. He dies on camera. Darwin Award. Hope these people never breed.

6. c3shooter

c3shooter Administrator Staff Member

For homemade, will stick to wine and cookies.

First, NOTHING in this world is bullet PROOF. Things are bullet resistant. And you would be surprised at the penetration of some bullets over others.