Home defense recommendations?

Discussion in 'Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion' started by shorterj88, Aug 10, 2013.

1. shorterj88

shorterj88 New Member

I've been looking to get some sort of long gun for a home defense/fun at the range purpose. As I'm a teacher and money is normally tight (and I'm getting married in March money is tighter) I'd be looking to spend around 600-800. I already have several handguns I use for home defense/ccw, just looking for something new. All recommendations/POVs welcome!

2. shorterj88

shorterj88 New Member

I would also clarify something in the carbine length, preferably.

3. Jagermeister

Jagermeister New Member

My suggestions are a high capacity shotgun(Mossberg 590 or Remington 870), Ruger mini 14, SKS, AK 47 or low end AR. Except for the AR, all these weapons meet you budget over here in Germany. Germans sell same guns at higher cost then the US. also look at ammo availability for the guns, although I believe ammo shortages will go away. The shorter the better for inside the home. Hmm...maybe a mini 14.

Last edited: Aug 10, 2013
  4. JW357

JW357 New Member

If you're ok with a shotgun, look into the Mossberg 500 or Remington 870. You can prolly find them for half your budget. And 12ga ammo is the only thing available in my area. Can't beat a shotgun for HD. If you can find a 18"-20" bbl, all the better.

If you want more of a rifle, you should be able to find ARs for $700. I'm not sure about ammo availability, though.

5. therewolf

therewolf New Member

Do you have a scoped 22LR yet? Insane fun. Spend half on the rifle,

and half on the scope.

You could find a pristine M44 carbine, for 300-350$, before the

well dries up. That much would also buy you a pretty nice lever

gun, in SS, in your favorite caliber, for Western flavor. ;)

6. shorterj88

shorterj88 New Member