Firearms Talk banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey there everyone. Found this forum and I think it seems to be the best/most active so I can pick your brains about guns.

Some background about me and firearms, well, I don't really have much. No one in my family, that I know of, owns or even uses any firearms. :eek: However, in light of all the stuff that's been going down lately, I think it's stupid not to have something for self/home defense, especially since I have three little ones.

So what I was hoping to find is information about guns in general as I really haven't the foggiest idea about them. I've shot a few guns in the past, like a couple of shotguns and a couple of handguns, but that's about it.

So any and all basic info about guns would be greatly appreciated.

And as a side note, after reading the build your own AR15 I think I may want to give that a go. I'm a certified mechanic and I would really like to learn how these things work. Thanks everyone.

·
Administrator
34,282 Posts
WELCOME!!

You've come to the right place to learn. The best I can tell you right now is start browsing through these forums and read all that's there. You will inevitably have a few questions and when you do, throw them out there. You'll be surprised all the information available to you here.

·
Registered
2,989 Posts
Welcome to the forum. Enjoy as there is a lot of knowledge here.

·
Premium Member
12,027 Posts
Welcome to the forum. With guns, adopt the safety first mindset! Get to know the basic gun saftey rules(condensed):
1. Treat as always loaded.
2. Point in a safe direction.
3. Keep your finger off the trigger until time to shoot.
4. Know your target, and what's beyond it.

·
Registered
21,822 Posts
to the FTF community. We are glad to have you as a new member!

All you need here is a thick skin and the ability to laugh at anything, including yourself!

Please read the following, it will save all of us a lot of time and trouble: