Help with the right kind of rifle

Discussion in 'General Rifle Discussion' started by msjacks13, Nov 7, 2010.

1. msjacks13

msjacks13 New Member

Heya i am having a little trouble with finding what i want. What i am looking for is something for both target practice (to get back used to shooting), and hunting. I live in south Texas and will be hunting deer, hogs, turkey & maybe some elk (i got some family that live in Washington St. that want me to come up and hunt with them). I have a few years of past experience with rifles but not a lot so i want something cheap to relearn with. I was looking at something i dont have to reload after every shot fired and something with really good accuracy from 600-900 meters out and not whole lot of kick back. afew of my friends have recomended 30/06 or a 308 any suggestions will be greatly appreciated thanks.

2. Jay

Jay New Member

Welcome to the forum....

At the ranges you specified, the 30-06, and .308 are both good choices.

3. Hawg

Hawg Active Member

Can't go wrong with a 30-06 especially a hand loaded one.

4. jpattersonnh

jpattersonnh Active Member