help with optic please

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by hawkguy, Jun 19, 2012.

1. hawkguy

hawkguy Well-Known Member

a quick question. please understand i am very new to AR's, so please forgive if this is a DUH type of question....

i have a millet red dot. a 1" tube red dot. here is a link.

http://www.opticsplanet.net/millet-electronic-red-dot-sights.html

bought it as a cheap red dot for my mini 14, i haven't used it much, but it seems to be a decent red dot imo.

my question is....how can i use this on my S&W M&P sport? it is too low to clear my front post on regular rings.

i will need some type of elevated mount for a picatinny rail. it needs to be with 1" scope rings. could i co-witness with my irons with this optic? i would like to go pretty inexpensive if possible. one day i hope to have an eotech on my AR, but that might be in the distant future....$$$$:eek:

it would be really nice to use an optic i already have for awhile.

thanks for any help.

2. hawkguy

thank you. i was actually just about to post a link to this on midway when i saw you posted this. it says it is a "weaver mount"....will it work on a picatinny rail?

the price is right! :D

but my question would be....how do i know if this will clear/co-witness with my standard front sight? this is something i simply don't understand about ARs....:confused:

Last edited: Jun 19, 2012
  3. EW1066

EW1066 Member Supporter

Based solely on the product pictures, it appears as though you will get either a lower 1/3rd co-witness or maybe even an absolute co-witness. It's a little difficult to tell from just the pictures.

From the NCSTAR web site: