Help with hunting rifle purchase

Discussion in 'General Rifle Discussion' started by Nyuu, Nov 8, 2010.

1. Nyuu

Nyuu New Member

I want to get a hunting rifle in the next month or two, and I'm not sure *exactly* where to start. I've read about 20 or so full threads to get a feel for the forums and to get an idea, but I'd like a little more personal help.

I've been shooting all types of guns for many many years now but never purchased one. I've shot .22s all my life so I want to stay away from .22s. I'm looking for something I can hunt deer with and enjoy at the outdoor shooting range I go to very often.

I've read the stickies and such, so I'm fairly certain that I'm looking for either a .308 or a 30-06. I kind of understand the scope range I want, I believe it's like 3x9 or 4x16 for those calibers (I also understand the 3rd number will determine low light condition handling and that I'll probably decide that when I'm actually purchasing it).

My price range is anywhere up to around 800-900 dollars. I'm picky when it comes to my weapons, which is why I've never bought one. I want something that'll look as great as it shoots. I'm accurate myself, so I want a gun that'll be accurate with me. I'm not looking for someone to do all the work for me. I'm just looking to get suggestions, experiences, links to reviews, and whatnot.

Again, I'm very new to gun buying, ammo buying, scope buying, etc. I've shot them all my life but it's always been with family, and friends more recently. So any and all help will do me good, and sorry if I've not been detailed enough or I've mixed anything up; or broken any of the forum rules.

Edit: I'd like to add that I will be researching as much as I can on the forums as well, so I'll add more to my thread if I learn anything new. :)

Edit2: PS - I tend to talk a lot when I type... sorry for the novels you'll have to read (for future reference)

Last edited: Nov 8, 2010
  2. Dillinger

Dillinger New Member